MDHA Spring Scientific Session

Save the Date!

MDHA Spring Scientific Session 2019
Friday March 29 & Saturday March 30, 2019

Leisure World Ballroom
3701 Rossmoor Blvd
Silver Spring, MD 20906

Legislation Support Needed – Dental Therapy Bill

Last week MDHA members testified in Annapolis to support a dental therapy bill that will help bridge the gap in access to care for Maryland residents. Let’s rally together in support of this bill that will create a mid-level dental provider that is compared to a PA or a nurse practitioner in the medical community.

Here is a video that explains more about dental therapy: http://www.pewtrusts.org/en/multimedia/video/2018/what-is-a-dental-therapist

We are being crushed by the phone calls and emails that the dentists are sending to the legislators. We need ALL HANDS ON DECK — we need every hygienist out there that cares about this issue to call as many people on the EHEA and HGO committees as we can.

Here is a list of the committee members:

Senate Committee Members

joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us

paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us

gail.bates@senate.state.md.us

Cheryl.Kagan@senate.state.md.us

shirley.nathan.pulliam@senate.state.md.us

barbara.robinson@senate.state.md.us

johnnyray.salling@senate.state.md.us

steve.waugh@senate.state.md.us

ronald.young@senate.state.md.us

craig.zucker@senate.state.md.us


House Committee Members

shane.pendergrass@house.state.md.us

eric.bromwell@house.state.md.us

Erek.Barron@house.state.md.us

bonnie.cullison@house.state.md.us

Antonio.Hayes@house.state.md.us

Terri.Hill@house.state.md.us

ariana.kelly@house.state.md.us

nicholaus.kipke@house.state.md.us

susan.krebs@house.state.md.us

pat.mcdonough@house.state.md.us

Ric.Metzgar@house.state.md.us

Christian.Miele@house.state.md.us

Marice.Morales@house.state.md.us

Matt.Morgan@house.state.md.us

joseline.pena.melnyk@house.state.md.us

Andrew.Platt@house.state.md.us

samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

Sid.Saab@house.state.md.us

Sheree.Sample.Hughes@house.state.md.us

kathy.szeliga@house.state.md.us

Chris.West@house.state.md.us

Karen.Young@house.state.md.us

If you go on the General Assembly website, you can find phone numbers for everyone. Inundate them all with phone calls! (N.B. No need to call Joan Carter-Conway or Bonnie Cullison — we had them at hello!)

Click here to find your legislator and the phone numbers of those on the committee: Legislator link Here is a link to a support letter to send: Dental Therapy support letter

Thank you for your help and support.

Sincerely,

Jody Berinato, RDH, BS
President of MDHA
jodyberinato@gmail.com